TV

Binge Watching: Shows I Watched In 2013 Alone

Hello my name is Tara and I am a television addicted. To be precise, I watch complete seasons of shows back to back online aka bingewatching. Around January 2013, I was in between jobs from my time in Chicago to moving to Auckland, New Zealand so I started a show that was made for this new way of watching entertainment: Breaking Bad. 

Breaking-Bad-by Mashable

I watched all the available 5 season episodes on Netflix in less than a month then sharing the fate of other fans the torturous 7 months until the last episodes of the brilliant show would be available. I needed something to help me as I waited with anxiety for the ending of Breaking Bad. Despite moving to a different country, starting a new job, making new friends, I had a chance to watch all seasons of past shows (in order):

Six Feet Under
Bored To Death
Hung
Black Books
Game of Thrones
Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Sons of Anarchy
Orange is the New Black
Chuck
Weeds
The United States of Tara 

This does not include new shows such as The Black List, Brooklyn Ninety-Nine and The Crazy Ones, as well as  watching my regular programs, The Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Scandal, etc.

The problem with binge watching is that it is highly addictive. Making a list of shows that I watch on a monthly basis can be considered sad (though I think it’s more impressive than anything else) but I studied media production. This is what I want to do for a living. I watch for edits, writing, style, there is a uniqueness to every show which fascinates and inspires me. I am pretty sure I am missing a few shows from this year’s binging ways but I think you get the idea. I’m addicted but I don’t think I will be stopping anytime soon.

For my picks of the top binge worthy shows in case you want to join the club, check my Pinterest board here. 

Leave a Reply

