Europe, Travel

Mind the Gap: Visiting London

“When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.”
― Samuel Johnson
london eye night
I love a lot of cities but I am in love with London. I have been there three times and there will be a lot more times if it is the last thing I do!! A big reason why I love it so much is because I hate to drive and this city has been voted the best in public transportation. There are also so many museums, plays (I saw 13 plays in 14 days!!), and so many historic sites to see.

The food is not great but I do recommend to get some delicious food at Belgo Restaurants, there are several locations but I have been to the one in Covent Garden, where I go to Ben’s Cookies which is not too far away for dessert! Drury Lane Theater is also in Covent Garden, the oldest theater in the city known for having ghosts, like the Man in a Gray Suit that likes to watch performances from one of the balconies. If you want to check out any more ghosts, there have been reports of seeing the Princess Diana, even Roman gladiators outside Kensington Hall.

To walk in the same footsteps as some famous faces of London, Charles Dickens liked to eat at Simpson’s Tavern. I also took a Jack the Ripper tour, many reviews wrote that this is not a great of a tour because the sites have been greatly changed, remodeled and modernized. It is true. With a night time tour about a serial killer, you do expect an eery feel but no such thing. The only really disturbing part is that the place where Mary, the last victim was killed is now a dorm room for students. To sleep, study and live where a an infamous murder took place where the killer was never caught, I don’t know how this person does it!

london clink me All in all, London is a great place, I love to be able to take the tube to go across the city to see another play, walk around the pretty fog near the London Eye, and seeing all the great and unique museums such as the Tate Modern or the Clink Museum (where this picture was taken). This is a great city with so much to offer. I hope this blog helps with people’s visits to London!

2 thoughts on “Mind the Gap: Visiting London”

Leave a Reply

